The Maloof Law Firm

Recognized for legal excellence, our attorneys provide compelling criminal defense when you need it the most.

Schedule a Free Consultation Call 404-492-5104

Black and White Study Room
Home | Misdemeanor

Protecting Your Future After A Misdemeanor Criminal Accusation

While a misdemeanor charge is less serious than a felony, no criminal charge should be taken lightly. A misdemeanor could result in hefty fines, license suspensions or even imprisonment. If a misdemeanor charge is threatening your record, contact The Maloof Law Firm of Dekalb County. Call us at 404-492-5104 for strong and effective criminal defense representation.

What Is A Misdemeanor?

A misdemeanor is any criminal charge in Georgia that carries one year or less of incarceration. The maximum fine for a misdemeanor is $1,000.00 plus court costs. Misdemeanors vary from minor traffic violations to prostitution and domestic violence. Any arrest generates a criminal record no matter how minor the offense. Many misdemeanors become a felony if a person has prior convictions for the same offense or if a certain dollar value is stolen or damaged.

For example, shoplifting becomes a felony if a person commits the offense four times, or if the value of the goods taken is $500.00 or greater. Some misdemeanors become high and aggravated. These misdemeanors can have higher fines than $1,000.00. Certain misdemeanors carry with them mandatory penalties such as license suspensions and jail time. All traffic violations are misdemeanors. Below is a list of common misdemeanors and any mandatory punishments they carry.

Drug And Alcohol Offenses

Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol or Drugs
-The mandatory punishments are covered in the DUI section of our website

Possession of Marijuana less than one ounce
-A mandatory six-month suspicion of your driver’s license

Possession of Alcohol by a Minor
-If the alcohol was purchased with a fake ID or is found in your car, then a six-month suspension of your driver’s license

Distributing Alcohol to Any Person Under the Age of 21
-No minimums under Georgia law but can result in the loss of a business license

Public Intoxication
-No mandatory minimums

Open Container
-No mandatory minimums

Crimes Of Violence

Assault
-No minimums but usually results in a period of probation, anger management classes, and jail time if a history of violence exists.

Battery
-No minimums but usually results in a period of probation, anger management classes, and jail time if a history of violence exists.

Cruelty to Children in the third degree
-No minimums but usually results in a period of probation, anger management classes, and jail time if a history of violence exists.

Disorderly Conduct
-No minimums

Frey
-No minimums

Domestic Violence Battery
-Loss of the right to possess a firearm, domestic violence classes are common, a second conviction can be charged as a felony and the sentence can be five years.

Sex Crimes

Prostitution
-High and aggravated misdemeanor (fine of up to $5,000.00) only four days of good time per month served in jail(felony if the prostitute is 18 or younger)

Sexual Battery
-High and aggravated misdemeanor (fine up to $5,000.00) felony if committed on a minor (Second offense is a felony)

Solicitation For Prostitution
-No mandatory minimums

Public Indecency
-No mandatory minimums (third offense becomes a felony)

Vehicular Misdemeanors

Vehicular Manslaughter
-No mandatory minimums

Fleeing and Attempting to Elude
-Minimum 10 days in jail and a $500.00 fine

Any Moving Violation
-No mandatory minimums

Reckless Driving
-No mandatory minimums

Aggressive Driving
-Aggravated Misdemeanor minimum $1,000.00 fine

No Insurance
-$200.00 fine and a 60-day suspension of your license, second offense 90-day license suspension and government monitored insurance required

Suspended License
-$500.00 fine and two days in jail, second and third within five years aggravated misdemeanor and $1000.00 fine to a $5000.00 fine and minimum 10 days in jail, the fourth offense is a felony requiring one-five years in prison

Crimes Against Property

Criminal Trespass
-No mandatory minimums

Shoplifting
-No mandatory minimums (felony if the property value exceeds $500.00) (a fourth conviction is a felony)

Criminal Damage to Property
-No mandatory minimums (felony if $500.00 or more in property value)

Start Building A Strong Defense Today

Discuss your misdemeanor case with experienced criminal defense attorneys. The Maloof Law Firm has worked in the Dekalb County criminal justice system for generations, and we are ready to put our experience to work for you. Email us today or call our office at 404-492-5104 to start building a strong and effective legal defense.

Client Testimonials

Mr. Maloof is an extremely charismatic, professional lawyer. He explained to me what was going to happen and what my options were in very simple terms, without any overly complicated legal jargon.

– Raymond

Mike worked tirelessly on our case and exceeded all of our expectations. He was able to get all of my daughter's charges dismissed. Mike saved my daughter's future and my family is incredibly thankful. I highly recommend Michael.

– Julie

 I am more than satisfied with the legal services that I received from Mike Maloof Jr. and I would recommend him to anyone seeking a Great lawyer who will fight hard and care about them!! Thanks Mike!! Forever Grateful!!

– Lester